Bulldogs News


By: Hamilton Bulldogs
01/17/2013 12:05 AM -

Abbotsford, British Columbia – The Abbotsford Heat defeated the Hamilton Bulldogs 2-1 in a shootout on Wednesday night at Abbotsford Entertainment and Sports Centre.  Tyler Ruegsegger scored the winner in the shootout while Danny Taylor made 28 saves for the victory.

The Heat got on the board first for the second-straight game on a power-play goal by Dustin Sylvester at 12:55 of the opening frame.  After a pretty passing play, Sylvester snapped a shot over the shoulder of Hamilton Bulldogs starting goaltender Cedrick Desjardins.  After one period of play, Abbotsford held the edge in shots 11-8.

The two teams played to a scoreless second period, with the Bulldogs posting 10 shots on goal to Abbotsford’s five for a total lead of 18-16 for Hamilton.

The ‘Dogs tied the score at 2:08 of the third stanza on Philippe Lefebvre’s first tally of the season.  Alexander Avtsin came into the zone on the right side and took a shot which was stopped by Abbotsford Heat starting goaltender Danny Taylor.  The rebound came out in front to Lefebvre who picked up the loose puck and bounced it by Taylor and into the back of the net.  

After nothing was solved in overtime, the two teams participated in a shootout, with the Heat winning 3-2 to win the game 2-1.  The Heat grabbed a quick 2-0 lead with the Bulldogs storming back to square it up, only to have Ruegsegger, Abbotsford’s sixth shooter, score to win the game.  The ‘Dogs edged the heat 29-28 in shots.

The Bulldogs’ next game is against the Toronto Marlies at Copps Coliseum on Saturday, January 19th at 7:00 p.m.  All ‘Dogs games will be broadcast on Hamilton's Funny 820 (AM 820).  Fans can also listen to and watch all 'Dogs games on www.hamiltonbulldogs.com.  Live coverage with the broadcast team of Play-By-Play Announcer Derek Wills (all home and away games) and Colour Commentator Al Craig (all home and select away games) will begin with the Pioneer Pre-Game Show 30 minutes prior to the scheduled start time.

For more information on how to join the Hamilton Bulldogs’ team by becoming a season ticket holder, or for more information on Pioneer Flex Pack tickets or group tickets, call 905-529-8500 or 1-866-DOGS-TIX, e-mail ticketing@hamiltonbulldogs.com or visit www.hamiltonbulldogs.com.  ‘Dogs single-game tickets are available at the Copps Coliseum Box Office, any Ticketmaster Outlet, online at www.ticketmaster.ca, or by calling 905-529-8500 or 1-866-DOGS-TIX.  


Visit the official website of the Hamilton Bulldogs at www.hamiltonbulldogs.com
Become a fan of the ‘Dogs on Facebook at www.facebook.com/hamiltonbulldogs
Follow the team on Twitter at www.twitter.com/bulldogsahl and www.twitter.com/dogsplaybyplay

Scoring Summary:

1st Period:
1. ABB – Dustin Sylvester – 7 – (Ben Walter, Krys Kolanos) – 12:55 (PP)

2nd Period:
No Scoring

3rd Period:
2. HAM – Philippe Lefebvre – 1 – (Alexander Avtsin) – 2:08

No Scoring


Hamilton                                                           Abbotsford

Joey Tenute                   No Goal                         Max Reinhart                 Goal

Alexander Avtsin            No Goal                         Ben Walter                    Goal

Riley Armstrong             No Goal                         Krys Kolanos                 No Goal

Nathan Beaulieu             Goal                              Dustin Sylvester             No Goal

Mark Isherwood             Goal                              Greg Nemisz                  No Goal

Daultan Leveille             No Goal                         Tyler Ruegsegger           Goal

Abbotsford: 1-0-0-0-1—2
Hamilton: 0-0-1-0-0—1

Abbotsford: 11-5-7-4-1—28
Hamilton: 8-10-9-2-0—29

Danny Taylor (W – 29 shots, 28 saves)
Cedrick Desjardins (SOL – 27 shots, 26 saves)

Power Play:
Abbotsford: 1-for-3
Hamilton: 0-for-4

Attendance: 1,972

Three Stars:
1. ABB – Danny Taylor (28 saves)
2. HAM – Cedrick Desjardins (26 saves)
3. ABB – Dustin Sylvester (1 goal, 3 shots)

Dan Lawrie Insurance Premium Player of the Game: Daultan Leveille


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »